Interview with Andrea Judy– Pro Se Productions’ The New Adventures of Senorita Scorpion

Today I would like to introduce an author friend of mine, Andrea Judy. Published poet, and fiction writer, editor, & full time grad shotstudent. She has two short stories out with Pro Se Productions, one is in The Pulptress! and the other is in The New Adventures of Senorita Scorpion.

“Senorita Scorpion is in fact Elgera Douglas, a young lady who became a legendary outlaw defending her family’s land and legacy, the fabled Lost Santiago Mine. Beautiful and deadly.”

Interview with Author Andrea Judy 
on the publication of Pro Se Productions’ 
book The New Adventures of Senorita Scorpion 
3/27/2013

Lisa M. Collins: Andrea, congratulations on the new book! I was wondering where you get your ideas?

Andrea Judy: My ideas usually come from all over the place…and of course, they have a bad habit of appearing at 3 am when I have to be up in a few hours. Music in particular is a huge inspiration for me, and almost anything I write will have a playlist or a particular theme song that inspires me.

Lisa M. Collins: Is that the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Andrea Judy: I have my pants still half on, but I am becoming more of a plotter. That is mostly because several of the publishers I’ve worked with want full synopsis before I ever write the story, and that limits the ability to pants. I still would say I’m more of pantser because I work the story out through those synopsis, the story takes me where it wants to go, and then I rewrite and revise, and let me tell you it is much easier to revise a synopsis or an outline than it is a while story. That said though, I do still write by the seat of my pants on occasion and probably always will. For me it depends on the story.

SS PO FCLisa M. Collins: Once you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?

Andrea Judy: I usually do a bit of world-building and research, but most of the time I dive right in with fingers blazing over the keyboard to get the idea down. I then go back and research details and work out problems that have popped up during that first draft. I am in graduate school right now, so researching things is almost second nature to me, so I really enjoy diving in to some obscure thing and researching all about it. Folklore is one of my favorite things to read about, as well as strange deaths and phenomena. But with stories, I generally write first and research later.

Lisa M. Collins: Can you think of a well-known writer whose style is similar to your own, and if so can you recommend a book by that author?

Andrea Judy: A teacher in high school told me I wrote like David Eddings… I’m not sure I agree with that now, but at the time it was true. Now? I’m not sure who I write like, but I can recommend two of my favorite writers: Matt Bell who wrote The Collectors which is the book that got me through my last year of my Bachelor’s degree. He is amazing, and you can read it free here! The other writer that inspires me is Lisa Manneti whose work is absolutely amazing. She is my favorite modern horror writer hands down, and if you have not read her book, The Gentling Box, you are really missing out.

Lisa M. Collins: What is your daily writing like?

Andrea Judy: I try to write daily; I really do. But reality kicks in frequently, and I have a lot of projects going on at once so more often than not, I get to write maybe 3-4 times a week. Right now my thesis dominates my writing time, but I still manage to squeak in a novella or a short story every once in a while. It’s just a little difficult to fit everything in. The truth of the matter is that you will never ‘find’ more time to write. You will have to make it by getting rid of something else, and that’s a very tough thing to do.

Lisa M. Collins: Is your plan to one day being a full time writer?

Andrea Judy: I am not a full time writer by any stretch of the imagination. I would love to be a full time writer in the future; I think that’s something every writer longs for. I would like to be able to support myself with writing/editing within the next ten years, but I also understand that, that might not be possible. To get ready for that hopeful future, I keep my debts low, I live simply, and I work hard every day. If it comes to a point where I can, that would be great, but I’m realistic.

Lisa M. Collins: Can you tell us about your experience working with Pro Se Productions?

Andrea Judy: I have done editing work with one publisher, which was fun, hectic, but a lot of fun and a very eye-opening experience. I have written for a few publishers but so far the only work to come out has been from one particular press, Pro Se Productions. It’s been great working with them. They’ve got a quick turn around time, and are very clear about what they want.

Lisa M. Collins: Can you tell us about some of your other writing and any appearances or signings that you have planned?

Andrea Judy: The cover to the right is of my upcoming novella (whose title is still being worked out.) But it is the origin story of the villain from my short story in The Pulptress.OriginofBones

Right now, it’s difficult for me to commit 100% to events since I am graduating and job hunting and not sure where I will be living in the next few months, but I have plans to be at Alabama Phoenix Festival in Birmingham May 24-26, and ConCarolinas in Charlotte May 31-June 2, though I will be there as just an attendee more than an official guest. My next confirmed appearance as a guest is at Fandomfest in Louisville July 26-28 so come by and say hello!

Lisa M. Collins: In closing Andrea, I want to thank you for sharing about your writing. As a new author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?

Andrea Judy: The best advice I can offer is very simple: finish what you write. Don’t go chasing every idea that hits you, sit down and finish one project, send it out into the world and start on the next project. Don’t get caught up in constantly starting things and then abandoning them. Writing is a lot more than being creative; it requires conviction, effort, and time.

Lisa M. Collins: Thanks Andrea!

If you would like more information about Andrea you can find her books on Amazon, and updates about her writing on Twitter, Facebook and on her Blog.

amazon.com/author/andreajudy

@judyblackcloud on twitter

judyblackcloud.wordpress.com

facebook.com/andrea.judy

4 thoughts on “Interview with Andrea Judy– Pro Se Productions’ The New Adventures of Senorita Scorpion

  1. Congratulations, Andrea! Loved reading your interview. The making time to write is a common mantra among writers. Do you have a preferred time of day or place to write?

    1. Hi! Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you enjoyed my interview, it was a blast!
      My preferred writing place is at my desk. I can write other places, but I do best locked in my room at the desk. I tend to write best at night, usually 8pm-1am is where my ideal writing happens.

Leave a Reply

