Interview with Karina Fabian — Live and Let Fly

Karina Fabian is the winner of the 2010 INDIE for best Fantasy with her book Magic, Mensa and Mayhem. She has imagination that takes quirky twists that keep her–and her fans–amused. Nuns serving in space, a down-and-out Faerie dragon working off a geas from St. George, zombie exterminators—there’s always a surprise in Fabian’s worlds. Karina’s writing took a right turn  in May 2010, with a devotional, Why God Matters, which she co-wrote with her father, Steve Lumbert.

Fabian is a former President of the Catholic Writer’s Guild and is the current Committee Coordinator. She teaches writing and book marketing seminars online, but mostly is concerned with supporting her husband, Rob, as he makes the exciting leap from military officer to civilian executive, getting her kids through high school and college, and surviving daily circuit torture…er, circuit training.  

karina106Interview with Author Karina Fabian 
author of Live and Let Fly
4/18/2013

Lisa M. Collins: Karina I absolutely adore your character Vern the average North African Faerie Wyvern with a not-so average lifestyle.  Vern is unique and in your books he just comes alive so, I was wondering where you get your story ideas?

Karina Fabian: The problem is not getting ideas.  They’re everywhere.  I have too many, and some are sitting, languishing, in a file on my computer.  Oh, the guilt!

Most often, I start with a character idea and the adventure presents itself, but sometimes, I will come across a situation that stirs my imagination.  For example, today in FB, there was a discussion about going and rescuing a Tunisian woman who apparently has been kidnapped by her own family for posting a nude picture of herself. Some of the guys were gung-ho for getting some zodiacs and weapons and saving the damsel in distress.  Part of me got to thinking, “What about all the women here in the US who could use a knight in shining armor, but aren’t as pretty or posing naked on the Internet?”  I already have a couple of characters I want to set up a romance for, one of whom is a secret agent Stan Rakness from LiveandLetFlyLive and Let Fly. As I was shopping today, I imagined him defending this other character from her crazy stalker ex.  I can only hope what I was thinking didn’t show on my face!

Sometimes, if I need a specific idea, I’ll go to another book or movie and pull from it.  For example, my upcoming novelette, Greater Treasures, was inspired by the Maltese Falcon, but with a dragon for Sam Spade, the Lance of Longinus for the falcon, and a very different motive for the villain.

Lisa M. Collins: What is the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Karina Fabian: It depends on the story, but the only time I ever carefully plotted was for my novel, The Old Man and the Void, which I’m shopping around.  Even then, the characters took off and went waaaaay off-script.  I find it’s better to let them do that, however.

Lisa M. Collins: Once you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?Greater-Treasures-Ebook

Karina Fabian: I write or imagine and let the characters lead me.  After all, it’s their story.  They seldom steer me wrong.

Lisa M. Collins: What is your daily writing like?

Karina Fabian: There’s no pattern, but I begin with my paying assignments, then try to write fiction every day, market my books, and of course, tend to writers’ groups I’m in and help out other friend writers.  I also spend far too much time on Facebook.  When I write, I usually prefer the computer, but for my latest novel, Mind Over All, I seem to return to the notebook time and again.  I do usually imagine scenes at night or in the shower.

Lisa M. Collins: Are you a full time writer?

Karina Fabian: I’m a full-time writer.  I am not earning the wages of a full-time writer…or a full-time anything.  *shrug*  My wonderful husband keeps us sheltered and fed.

Lisa M. Collins: Can you tell us about your experience working with your current publisher? (Any other publishers?) (And/Or your self-publishing experiences?)

MindoverMind_CoverKarina Fabian: I have been blessed with multiple publishers, and each has helped me improve as a writer.  They’ve all been supportive of my books, and some have encouraged me to write a second or more of a character they’ve particularly enjoyed.

I’ve just started in the self-publishing adventure.  I’m going to begin with novellas and such—things that are harder to find a home for.  If I’m enjoying it, I might branch into doing some of my novels.  However, I believe strongly in the power of a good publisher, so I will continue to shop some of my books around and to stick with publishers I have for certain of my books or lines.

Lisa M. Collins: What is your current release and (without spoilers) tell us about the new book or series.

Karina Fabian: The latest book out is Live and Let Fly, which stars Stan Rakness.  Here’s the video with him in it:


This takes place in my DragonEye universe, and Stan joins Vern, a dragon, and Sister Grace, a magic-wielding nun from Faerie, as they take on a demigod intent on destroying our world.  It’s a 007 spoof and a laugh a page.

The novelette, Greater Treasures, comes out around April 19 on Kindle, and is a serious DragonEye story.  One thing I love about these characters and this universe—they have stories that run from slapstick to noir.

In September, my next novel, Mind Over Psyche, comes out from DragonMoon books.  It’s the second in the Mind Over trilogy.

Lisa M. Collins: Can you tell us about some of your other writing and any appearances or signings that you have planned?

Karina Fabian: In May, I’m having a huge, month-long book tour for Greater Treasures.  I’ll be doing interviews and guest posts—as is my main character, Vern—and we’ll be giving away prizes of e-books or grab bags from Vern’s warehouse.  You’ll find the details at here.

This year, I got the fabulous opportunity to participate in a project to make the saints better known to people.  Saint Connection gives readers a series of blogs written as if by the saint himself or herself.  I love this job on many levels.  I learn more about my Catholic heritage; I connect with these wonderfully holy people of the past; and I get to exercise my writing skills in a new way.  The website should be going live soon, if it isn’t by the time of this posting.

all in one FabianLisa M. Collins: As an author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?

Karina Fabian: Write.  Edit. Get critiques. Revise. Submit.  Accept rejection—it’s not personal.  Repeat until you sell or decide that being a plumber is more fulfilling.

Lisa M. Collins: Who is your favorite author, and can you recommend a book by that author?

Karina Fabian: Douglas Adams, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  (If you saw the Disney movie, but not read the book, you are missing out!)

Lisa M. Collins: Thank you Karina!

If you would like more information about Karina Fabian you can find her books on Amazon, and updates about her writing on Twitter, Facebook and on her website.

Personal website

Dragon eye PI

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Google +

19 thoughts on “Interview with Karina Fabian — Live and Let Fly

  1. Thanks, Lisa for hosting me today! If any of your readers wants to ask me a question or leave a comment, I’ll put the names in a drawing for a copy of “Greater Treasures.” We’ll pick a winner tomorrow, April 19.

  2. Great article and interview. I look forward to checking out a copy or two of Karina’s books. They may be up my alley.

    1. You are so welcome Kimberly…I have several various genre authors already committed though July. I’ll have everything from Superheroes to Steampunk in the line up.

    2. It’s funny, Kimbery. There’s a saying that there are only 42 (or 10 or 4 or…) original plot ideas. The rest is how you develop them. That’s the beauty of the creative process–there’s always something new to discover.

    1. From Vern: I’m on God’s side. As long as you are, too, we’re fine. Either way, don’t worry. Much as I’d like to at times, I don’t eat people anymore, even the baddies.

  3. So, I put everyone’s name on slips of paper and had my daughter draw one. Kathleen, you are a winner! I thought I’d buy a copy and have it sent to your Kindle or Kindle app. I need your e-mail addy, though, so please contact me at http://karinafabian.com/index.php?name=ContactPro. Congrats!

    For everyone else, please consider buying or borrowing the book today. I’m trying to make it an Amazon Top Ten today. It’s 72 in Urban Fantasy at the moment. http://www.amazon.com/Greater-Treasures-DragonEye-Novella-ebook/dp/B00CEH934G

Leave a Reply

