Interview with L R Barrett-Durham — Never Trust a Sorcerer

Global Selling Indie Author L R Barrett-Durham published her first novel September of 2011. Since then, she has six more under her belt. She writes multiple genres and she’s known on the con circuit for her Geeky Stained Glass. She lives in Cherokee, Alabama with her husband and son.
Interview with Author L R Barrett-Durhamlrbarrettdurham
author of Never Trust a Sorcerer.
7/18/2013

I was wondering where you get your story ideas?

Thank you for having me on your Blog, Lisa. Oddly enough, I get most of my story ideas from dreams. I’ve always had an active imagination, and I often wake up in the middle of the night and scribble out a story idea in a notebook by my bed. Our paranormal romance novel, Fear the Beast Within, that I co-authored with E G Glover, was actually a dream I had many times over the years. For my epic fantasy series, the Trust Series; however, mostly my muse comes from playing Dungeons and Dragons growing up. Never Trust a Sorcerer, the first book in the series, actually is based on a campaign I ran for some friends about thirteen years ago.

What is the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I’m the middle of the road on that one, it depends on what I’m writing. With the Trust Series, I have a definitive idea of what I want to accomplish and scribble down milestones that need to happen, but I’d say I’m more of a pantser on it. The Fear Series; however, simply because of the depth of research involved and the fact that I co-write it with someone else, I’m more of a plotter.

Never trust a sorcererOnce you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?

I’m actually glad you asked me that. With our new Fear Series book, Fear the Emptiness Within, I actually had to create a whole new world. The book is about the Fae, and part of it actually takes place in Faery, so I had to basically take you there with my writing. But honestly, the research came more from mixing mythology, history, and legends when it came to the characters and sects of Fae. There is a major part of the book that actually takes place on Earth during different eras of history, and that took a lot of work. E G Glover did a fabulous job putting together a timeline for the story while I created Faery.

The muse always takes me in directions that many times I never intended to go, but I long ago learned to listen to it rather than stick to an outline. To me, it takes a lot away from the creativity of the writing process.

What is your daily writing like?

Well, since I have a full time job, run a successful side business called Wildcat Mountain Artistry, and am a mother and wife, my daily writing isn’t always daily. If I’m very busy and distracted, I owe it to my readers to make sure that I give my full attention to what I’m putting in their hands. A lot of times, I’ll lock myself up in my bedroom for a few hours, or run the guys out of the house, and I can knock out five thousand words in no time.

Are you a full time writer? If so when did you make the decision and what factors led to the decision? If you are not a full time writer…Is your plan to one day being a full time writer?always trust your honor

No, I’m not a full time writer, though I seem to put books out as fast as one. I’m the Network Technician for one of the biggest Credit Unions in Alabama and am also a freelance artist. I’d love to write full time, nothing would please me more, but my son’s got to eat. 🙂

Can you tell us about your experience working with your current publisher? (Any other publishers?) (And/Or your self-publishing experiences?)

My first seven books were all self-published within a year and a half. I’m very OCD about how I want the books laid out and formatted. I even design my own covers. CreateSpace, a subsidiary of Amazon.com, was the perfect place for me. Only recently have I decided to work with a small press publisher, but that info will be released later. Just suffice it to say, these are some guys I’ve got to know at various events and I like what they’re doing enough to be a part of it.

What is your current release and (without spoilers) tell us about the new book or series.

Well, I’ve mentioned our paranormal romance book, Fear the Emptiness Within, which was released in May. I am now working Racing Destiny, it’s about hovercraft racing. You know, NASCAR of the future. Once that’s done, I’ll be jumping back into the world of Remus and putting out another Trust Book. I have two more projects in the works with the small press publishers in two new genres I’ve never written before. That’s the plan and as you can see, that’s five genres in one paragraph, so I’ll be pretty busy.

publishedworksCan you tell us about some of your other writing and any appearances or signings that you have planned?

At this time I have the following published in the following genres:

The Trust Series – Epic Fantasy

Book One: Never Trust a Sorcerer

Book Two: Always Trust Your Honor

Book Three: Forever Trust Your Aim

My fantasy probably has a little more romance in it than most and you don’t have to have a PhD in Dungeons and Dragons to understand it, but trust me, it has just as many battles, betrayals, intrigue, and magic than any other epic fantasy novel.

The Fear Series – Paranormal Romance – co-authored with E G Glover

Book One: Fear the Beast Within

Book Two: Fear the Thirst Within

Book Three: Fear the Emptiness Within

Book Three point Five: Finding the Beauty Within

With the Fear Series, we’re going through all the monsters. Beast is about a Romanian werewolf curse. Thirst is about vampires, but it has a ton of southern music history in it. I put a lot of myself in Thirst. Emptiness is about the Fae. Then, oddly enough, we have a spin-off Children’s book called Finding the Beauty Within. There’s actually an interesting story behind it. During Fear the Emptiness Within, one of the characters actually gives this book to another character. It is even dedicated that way. To Jane, Always believe in yourself and you can accomplish anything. Geo. It’s illustrated by me and is very much a Faery Tale, pun intended.

As for dates, you can always find them on our website: http://fearandtrust.freewebspace.com but here’s what we have for the rest of 2013:

June 8-9, 2013 Con Kasterborous, Huntsville, AL
June 28-30, 2013 LibertyCon, Chattanooga, TN
Sept 7, 2013 Applegarth Books, Millington, TN 10-6pm
Sept 28, 2013 The Geek Gathering @ O'Malley's, Sheffield, AL
Oct 11-13 Con*Stellation, Huntsville, AL
Nov 15-17 Memphis Comic and Fantasy Convention, Memphis, TN

As an author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?

I’d say don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do it or that it’s hard to do. I often give up my little trade secrets to help aspiring authors get on the right track. It’s a lot of work, don’t get me wrong, but it is so worth it!

Who is your favorite author, and can you recommend a book or series by that author?

Oh, that’s a really hard question. In the genre of epic fantasy, I would have to say R A Salvatore. I’ve known him for years and he is amazing. His Drizzt books are fantastic, they have to be for that series to last as long as it has. In paranormal romance, it would have to be either J R Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood Series or Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series. Both are excellent. These are the only books I’ve absolutely refused to give up to write.

If you would like more information about L R Barrett-Durham you can find her books on  FacebookAmazon,  and on her website. (Any books purchased on her website will be autographed and shipped free.)

One thought on “Interview with L R Barrett-Durham — Never Trust a Sorcerer

Leave a Reply

