Healthy Writer: StrongLifts 5×5 and the New Year’s Challenge

I lift weights. Now I’m not talking about pink Barbie sized weights that weigh less than my purse. I lift heavy weights. Heavy is relative to you, so you have to experiment a bit. I started with an empty 7ft. standard weight bar. Then I added 5lb plates on each side…and continued that way until I could not, with good form, complete the lift I was trying to do.pink

After a year of working out on a mostly regular schedule (life sometimes gets in the way) of Monday, Wednesday, Friday evenings. I can bench press100#, Back Squat 135#, and Deadlift 205#.  I have made several goals for the New Year and I plan to get there using the best lifting workout that I have discovered over my year of looking for just the right plan.

The plan that works the best in my opinion for new lifters is StrongLifts 5×5. WHY? There are several reasons, but let’s break down the main reasons.

  1. simplicity
  2. the workouts are quick
  3. you only have to work out 3 times a week

Those 3 reasons are enough, but you will quickly gain strength that you would not have believed you had in your power. Also, as a woman, the workout has the added benefits of giving you more confidence, freedom, and better bone density all without adding bulk. And that last point is so important to so many of my fellow female writers. They want to look fit, not look all manly. I promise this workout will not make you bulky if you are female.

Part of the New Year’s Healthy Writer Challenge is to do 15 mins of exercise a day. But if you are feeling like working out 5 days a week is just too much, try 3 days a week of StrongLifts 5×5. It will take around 20-30 mins per day. You do Workout A then Workout B. Then repeat.

Leave a Reply

