Interview with Ralph L. Angelo, Jr. — My Enemy, Myself

From his hidden lair somewhere on Long Island, NY the adventurer known to the world at large as Ralph L. Angelo, Jr. shares his fantastic life and adventures in thinly veiled novels that are really NOT about him, no, they’re not, really. Truthfully, not about him. Really...

Interview with Author Ralph L. Angelo, Jr. rl
author of My Enemy, Myself
5/22/2014

I was wondering where you get your story ideas.

I have a very vivid imagination. I can put an idea together without any outside influence. For me the trick is telling stories I’d like to read.

What is the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I don’t heavily plot. I come up with a basic idea and just go from there. I let the story tell itself and I’m along for the ride, jotting it all down.

Once you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?

I do research if I have to, meaning if I have a story happening in a real-world local that I’m unfamiliar with I’ll search it all out and make it all as real as possible. Usually though I just write.

my_enemy_cover_1What is your daily writing time like?

I’m a night owl. I strive for 2,000 words per day. I usually write the first 1000 sometime during the day, and finish it off at night, usually very late. I wrap normally at 2 AM.

Are you a full time writer? If so when did you make the decision and what factors led to the decision? If you are not a full time writer…Is your plan to one day being a full time writer?

I consider myself a full time writer right now. There were several factors that forced this upon me in the last three years, so I’ve been going with it. Since early 2013 I’ve written 7 novels, 3 of which have yet to be published.

Can you tell us about your experience working with your current publisher? (Any other publishers?) (Or your self-publishing experiences?)

I have one of my books out with one publisher right now, and he’s a guy I consider a friend. I have several short stories about to appear in anthologies for no less than three publishers. Most of my work is self-published for various reasons, the most important of which is that I’m a control freak when it comes to all of this. If something goes wrong I want to be the one to blame, not anyone else. These are all my babies and my responsibility. I want to see them come to fruition. The biggest thing I can tell you when I switch to the publisher hat is that marketing is everything. It is a mystery that is very difficult to uncover. Some things work for one book but not for another. What led me to self-publish was a bad experience with a company called ‘Publish America’ who I had used twice. The first time I was fairly happy with them and really had no complaints. The second time (With ‘Redemption of the Sorcerer, The Crystalon Saga, Book One’) was a total disaster, which led to me buying the rights back to my book and then running it through an editor, hiring an artist to create the perfect cover and then marketing it myself. Since then they have changed their name to ‘America Star Books’ but are still running the same bad games.

TorahgWhat is your current release and (without spoilers) tell us about the new book or series.

My newest release is entitled ‘My Enemy, Myself, The Crystalon Saga, Book Two’ It is the second in the ‘Crystalon’ series of books and sequel to ‘Redemption of the Sorcerer, the Crystalon Saga, Book One’ about an extremely powerful sorcerer who is exiled from his home dimension to a universe where very little magic exists. In this newest installment, Crystalon is visited by someone from his past he never expected to see again and it completely disrupts his life he has on this new Earth (which looks exactly like ours BTW) and forces him to return to his home dimension where he discovers he’s been impersonated these last two years by an evil man. So a universe and realm that he used to rule that already despised him now hates and fears him even more. But he is forced to return there and must strive to save those who curse his very name because he is the only one who stands a chance against the madman who wears his own face. The face of ‘My Enemy, Myself’

ROS_coverCan you tell us about some of your other writing (fiction or nonfiction) and any appearances or signings that you have planned?

I have several other series out, the most popular of which is my sci-fi/space opera series ‘The Cagliostro Chronicles’ which is about man’s first faster than light space flight and the can of worms it opens for humanity as mankind enters a very dangerous universe filled deadly foes and a century long conspiracy against the people of the Earth. The second book in that series will be released in mid-June.

I also wrote a sword and sorcery novel last year called ‘Torahg the Warrior, Sword of Vengeance’ which is the story of a young prince who is betrayed and framed for the murder of his father by his evil brother and his brother’s dark wizard cohort. It’s a tale of twenty years of festering vengeance that finally explodes when the now middle-aged Torahg returns to his homeland seeking justice for his father and revenge for himself.

CagkliostroCover2000pixelsAs an author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?

Keep writing. Don’t stop. Ignore bad reviews. They’re usually the result of someone who is small minded and is just seeking to make a name for themselves somehow by talking a new author down a peg. If it’s a review that offers constructive criticism and you can see what they are saying even though you might not really agree with it, then mull it over in your mind and ask friends about it. In the end some criticism can be very helpful, though other types can simply be a disgruntled wannabe author who wants to stand on a soap box. I find most of this type of critic on goodreads.com, which is why for the most part I ignore that site. If your book is good, you’ll get reviews that say so and they will be overwhelmingly in larger numbers than the negative ones. No matter who you are you’re going to get a negative review, so get thick skinned about it.

Always write what you want to read. You’ll find it will be your best work. Set a goal and stick to it. Whether it be 100 words a night or 2000. Most importantly, do not let anyone discourage you.

Who is your favorite author, and can you recommend a book by that author?

Robert E. Howard is probably my favorite author. My favorite living author is Warren Murphy, co-creator of ‘The Destroyer’ series of novels.

If you would like more information about Ralph L. Angelo, Jr. you can find his books on Amazon, and updates about his writing on Facebook , his blog, and on his website.

One thought on “Interview with Ralph L. Angelo, Jr. — My Enemy, Myself

Leave a Reply

