Interview with Kat Yares — The Well

Kat Yares has been writing fiction her entire adult life. She is an author, screenwriter, indie movie maker and amateur photographer. Her short fiction has appeared in numerous print publications and online. She was first accepted into the Horror Writers Association in 2001 and remains a member today. Her fiction is primarily in the horror/thriller genres. Unlike many, she writes horror not to gross out or startle her readers, but to make them think. Most of her stories are mind games and deal with mans (or woman’s) inhumanity to man (or woman).

 Profile picInterview with Author Kat Yares 
author of The Well.
6/3/2014

 

I was wondering where you get your story ideas?
My story ideas come from everywhere.  A show on TV, the news, real life and an active imagination.

 

What is the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?
I am a plotter for the most part.  I generally have a good idea of the progression from point a to point b – but don’t always know exactly how I’m going to get there.

 

91Zmz1D9wAL._SL1500_Once you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?
Again, mostly I just figure out how to get from point to point in the story I want to tell.  Research is generally left for the revision.  My main goal is to get the story on paper.

 

What is your daily writing time like?91Bec-wTw5L._SL1500_
After the better half leaves for work, I begin my day by checking emails, social media and other online things.  Then, generally, I get the product and book reviews done that are needing attention.  If I have web content to work on, that comes next.  After a break for breakfast, lunch or dinner (depending on his shift), then I focus on fiction.

 

Are you a full time writer? If so when did you make the decision and what factors led to the decision. If you are not a full time writer…Is your plan to one day being a full time writer?
I have been writing full time since 2002.  The web content helps to pay the bills – I’d probably starve if not for that and ‘that’ man working full time.

 

untitledCan you tell us about your experience working with your current publisher? (Any other publishers?) (Or your self-publishing experiences?)
I usually attempt to get my short stories into various anthologies, if they fit the theme.  My longer works have all been self-published.  I like the control, the royalties and because they are a very niche market – a traditional publisher probably would not even consider them.

 

What is your current release and (without spoilers) tell us about the new book or series.
My latest release was a novellete titled “The Well”.  I would classify it as a supernatural horror story.  From the cover blurb, when young widowed, Sarah Lewis, discovers why the water has stopped flowing from her water well, she is in disbelief. But when the mythical creature holding back the water tells her the price to get it flowing again, Sarah is in abject terror. Can she find a solution before the thing devours her young son?

 

Can you tell us about some of your other writing (fiction or nonfiction) and any appearances or signings that you have planned?91mjOdYWLVL._SL1500_
Currently have four stories in process.  I’m not sure yet whether they will end up as novellas or full novels.  I’m always taking notes for stories to be told in the future.  With any luck, I’ll get at least one of those four completed this month during CampNaNo.  First, I have to solve some computer issues I’m having though.

 

As an author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?
Write for yourself.  Do not measure your success by the money you make, measure instead by the knowledge that at least other people are wanting to read your words, your story.71ITjzJT0iL._SL1500_

Who is your favorite author, and can you recommend a book by that author?
Favorite author – well, there are actually two.  Billie Sue Mosiman writes in multiple genres – her latest, “The Grey Matter” is an edge of the couch, page turning suspense novel.
Robert McCammon fills the other spot.  I’ll read anything that man writes, but his best in my mind is “Swan Song”.  I read it at least once a year.

If you would like more information about Kat Yares you can find her books on  AmazonTwitter, and on her blog.

One thought on “Interview with Kat Yares — The Well

Leave a Reply

