Interview with Cheyanne Young — Overpowered

Cheyanne is a native Texan with a fear of cold weather and a coffee addiction that probably needs an intervention. She loves books, sarcasm, nail polish and paid holidays. She lives near the beach with her family, one spoiled rotten puppy and a cat that is plotting to take over the world, one scratched up welcome mat at a time.

She’s a cubicle dweller and all around sarcastic weirdo by day. But at night, Cheyanne can be found furiously typing on her computer, probably complaining on Twitter about how she should be writing. When she’s not honing her procrastination skills, she’s writing books for teenagers. She is the author of several books for teens and recently turned her love of superheroes and writing for teens into books about teenage superheroes.

Interview with Author Cheyanne Youngauthorphotoshoot 015 
author of Overpowered.
8/28/2014

 

I was wondering where you get your story ideas?
Some of my ideas come from personal experience, some come from random daydreams and often, my ideas come to me from absolutely nowhere but my crazy, over caffeinated mind. I never know when inspiration will strike, but when it does, I better have a notebook to write it down. My cell phone is full of text messages to myself with half-baked sentence fragments that I might never actually turn into a story. Such is the life of a writer.
PoweredAllBlackEbookWhat is the usual process for your fiction writing? Are you a plotter or a pantser?
I’m an inbetweener. I usually have a rough outline in my mind and sometimes I write it down, but usually I don’t. For more intense plots, like with the Powered Trilogy, I have it all written down to avoid plot holes but I use a lot of leeway in following the outline. Things change and my characters tend to do what they want to do, not what I want them to do, so in the end, it’s a mixture of half pants/half plots.
Once you have an idea that sparks your imagination do you research your idea or do any world-building exercises, or do you just begin to write and see where the Muse takes you?
I just write. I’m terrible at research. Plus the greatest research is just using my own head to think up stuff. 😉 Any real research, like for specific facts and places, is usually done in the editing process, while I whine and complain about how much I hate research…
What is your daily writing time like?
I have a full time day job and a family, so my writing time is hectic. I always wake up early on the weekends so I can hide out and get a few hours of writing time before anyone else wakes up. On weekdays, I write during my lunch break at work and then again before I go to bed. It’s hard, but I find the time.
91VwAwRzrtL._SL1500_Are you a full time writer? If so when did you make the decision and what factors led to the decision. If you are not a full time writer…Is your plan to one day being a full time writer?
Wouldn’t that be the dream? Writing is my hobby and it’s something I’m passionate about, but with an ever growing market of indie published books, my little ol’ books will never earn enough to pay the bills and the health insurance and retirement, and let’s not forget my addiction to buying nail polish. It’s a sad and harsh truth, but I know I’ll be stuck at my day job until the day I die. And no, I’m not bitter about it… Not at all…
Can you tell us about your experience working with your current publisher? (Any other publishers?) (Or your self-publishing experiences?)
After dealing with 2 agents I decided to self publish under a pen name “for fun”… it ended up being a lot more than just fun and I then chose to ditch the trad publishing game and strike out on my own. I don’t regret it one bit. I like being in control of everything and learning what works and what doesn’t work. I like knowing that if my books succeed, then it’s because they’re good books and not because they had big money spent on marketing to force them to succeed.
OverpoweredCoverCYOUNG
What is your current release and (without spoilers) tell us about the new book or series.
Book 2 in my YA superhero trilogy just came out and I’m excited about it! It’s called OVERPOWERED and it follows Hero Maci Might’s journeys to save someone who is a known villain from being put to death. There’s action and fighting and love and teenage angst. I love it.
Can you tell us about some of your other writing (fiction or nonfiction) and any appearances or signings that you have planned?
I have a backlog of YA romance books and a novella trilogy of NA romance, but I recently decided to become a full time superhero author, wherein I will combine my love of love and my love of superheroes into stories about heroes who might occasionally fall in love. I’m more than excited about what the future holds for my superhero book ideas. As for appearances, you can find me at the Sephora in Baybrook Mall more often than I should be, and I frequently make appearances at Taco Bell to get one of those amazing Dr. Pepper vanilla slushy things. Butttt in a bookish sense, I am trying my hardest to get into a book convention either in Texas or the surrounding states. If you know of any, let me know!
81yeVE88SrL._SL1500_As an author what inspiration or advice would you give to a writer who is working to make the transition to Author?
My biggest advice is more mental instead of technical… Focus on your own journey. Don’t worry about what other writers are doing or you’ll drive yourself crazy with envy and stress. Just keep your eyes focused on where you want to go and you’ll get there when it’s meant to be. And don’t give up if it’s what you truly want to do. That’s something I tell myself about once a week, because trust me, you’ll want to quit. You’ll want to quit more than you’ll want to not quit. But it’s worth it.
Who is your favorite author, and can you recommend a book by that author?
Sorry in advance, but it is impossible for me to name one!
Sarah Dessen – Keeping the Moon
Nikki Godwin – Falling From the Sky
RJ Ross – The entire Cape High Series
John Green – Looking for Alaska
Rainbow Rowell – Eleanor & Park
If you would like more information about Cheyanne Young you can find information about her books at AmazonTwitter, Instagram, Goodreads, Pinterest, and on her website.
PenAndCapeSociety_logoGoodfight
Leave a Reply

