Looking into the Future: On tap for 2016

Although it isn’t quite the end of 2015 I am already looking toward 2016. I want to give you all a round up of accomplishments for the year, and share a bit of what I have planned for the future.

Two stories were accepted to anthologies this last year.

mechanoid pressOne is the prequel of my novella, The House Bast Made, this new short story, Hathor’s Gift, is the tale of Reid Cannon’s grandmother, Jane Roberts. In the story she is young and in graduate school back in 1968. Of course, like Reid’s story, Jane is in Egypt and supernatural things are a foot. This story is going to be published by Mechanoid Press’ in the New Year. You can click on the pictures to see the upcoming titles in the anthology, and I must say I’m in good company.

Check out Mechanoid Press on their website, Facebook, or Twitter. Also if you sign up for the newsletter for Mechanoid, you get a free book!

 

airship anthoThe second short story is The Dangerous Client. This one is my first foray in writing a noir detective mystery. The story follows PI Mack Stevens as he negotiates the hard streets of 1930s Chicago. The Anthology is being published by Airship 27 Productions, and is a benefit for  a dear friend of mine, Tommy Hancock, and his family. Legends of New Pulp Fiction has 62 writers & 38 artists. This massive book has 100 CREATORS! Look for this in the early part of 2016.

Check out Airship 27 Productions on their website, Facebook, or Twitter.

Now that NaNoWriMo is over and I’m recovered I have started to look over a past novel. I know some people jump right in to working over their NaNo novel. I need more space between the second draft and that first radical word-fest that is NaNoWriMo.  I am working the rest of December on the third draft from a past NaNo novel.  I see the creation of a story, that first draft, as being 50% done. 60% is when I have gone back over the first draft and edited it for readability, added notes where I need to expand or cleanup sections, and basic grammar issues. Sometimes I let my critique partner, Bonnie J. Sterling, read a story at this point. If she has additions/subtractions she thinks the draft needs, I take those on advisement.

That is where Chevron Station is now. This month I am working to bring it up to the 80% level, where I have written the third draft and expanded the story by incorporating my notes.  At this point I get my beta readers involved. The book isn’t ready to be published until I hear back from them and I have addressed any issues the readers might have. The last 10% is the technical issues of the actual production. I am a hybrid author, in that I have self published and also MargaretTorotraditionally published my works. I do most of my ebook setup myself. I don’t mark a book as 100% done until it is in the cue at Amazon. My hope is Chevron Station will be ready for the cue by early Spring 2016, with the second book in the series ready for Fall/Winter 2016. If you would like a sneak peak at Chevron Station, check out my Pinterest board.

Screenshot 2015-12-05 at 10.16.20 AM

 

 

 

If you would like to know FIRST when books are ready for purchase, giveaways, sales, and freebies you can sign up for my newsletter. It is not blog content regurgitated in your inbox. I only send out an email to the list when I have a publishing announcement.

The signup is quick and easy, and here is the best part, subscribers will get newsletter only promotions. Click here or the picture below to sign up. Your contact information will not be shared or sold, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

2016 has a lot of good things coming down the pike. Come on a journey with me. Let’s see what is out there!

8 thoughts on “Looking into the Future: On tap for 2016

  1. SO proud of you! I loved Reid Cannon and can’t wait to get to know more of his family. You are busy for 2016! Go GET it girl!

    • Thank you Tamie! I am working to create a backlist…It seems daunting, but I know it can be done. You have a great backlist of novels.

    • Thank you Diane, it does feel pretty good, but it will even feel better when they will be out on the shelves and available online.

Leave a Reply

