#NaNoWriMo2016 Back to Chevron Station!

This year I’m returning to a place I love, Chevron Station. For those of you who haven’t heard of the station, it is one of my completed NaNoWriMo novels. I am ready to get back to the space station and write more of the story. I have hoped to make the book into a series of three or four books and perhaps skip several decades into the future and then write another set of books based on the children of the colonists.

To give you a bit of background about our main character here is a down and dirty bio of Doctor of Psychology and matchmaker extraordinaire, Margaret Morris.

Maggie leaves her academic career on the Moon and trades it for a posting on Earth’s only colony outside of the Sol system. As a professional in relational psychology Maggie is hired by Western Federated Military to help colonize the planet Chevron and keep peace on the space station between the military and the colonists.

There are some parts of Maggie’s past that I feel I would like to flesh out, so I may be going back in time to write about Dr. Morris’ time at Armstrong University. Why would a tenured professor want to leave their school? What would lead Maggie to make the decision to leave her well crafted life for working with the military? These are some of the questions I think I would like to have answered.

Also I felt like I finished the ending of the first novel too quickly. Beta readers still have questions and wanted a bit more meat at the end. So there is some work to be done there. I think once these areas are beefed up a bit more then I’ll see a clear plan for how to begin the next book.

Wow! So there you have it, my goal for NaNoWriMo 2016…being a rebel.

* If you don’t know about NaNoWriMo check it out.

Leave a Reply

